(I did not take this photo. Obviously.)

Yes, carrot salad. 🙂 Last week I made Pioneer Woman’s Creamy Lemon Basil Potato Salad for the fellowship meal at church. I had some of the dressing left over, and last night I was looking for a way to dress up cooked carrots. Creamy Lemon Basil Carrot Salad was born. I’ll give you the ingredients I used for the dressing. They differ slightly from those in the recipe I linked above because I didn’t have all the ingredients she used.

Creamy Lemon Basil Dressing:

Juice of two lemons
3 T. oil
1/2 – 3/4 C. mayonnaise
salt and pepper to taste
dried basil (the original recipe called for 1 T. basil pesto, which would be better)

Whisk ingredients together. Dice and cook some carrots until fork-tender. Allow to cool. Toss with dressing and fresh basil (chopped if using large leaves). Chill and serve.

Oh. my. goodness. I made an entire pot of carrots, and they disappeared in one meal. (Bronwyn ate them like candy!) This is a refreshing summer side dish and maybe even a bit healthier than potato salad. Enjoy!

