source

(click photo to go to source)

Do you like those flaky, mile-high, buttery discs of heaven that come from southern USA and are called biscuits? I do, too. Do you live in a place where you can buy them frozen, pop them in the oven to bake, and eat them? If you do, I hate you (in a Christian way, of course). If you don’t, let me tell you how you can make them. (I adapted this recipe from one I found on the internet. Does that make it “mine” since I made it a few times now? I never know.) You’ll need:

2 C. flour
3/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
2 T. butter, frozen
2 T. lard, frozen
1 C. buttermilk

Preheat your oven to 450 F or 230 C. Lightly grease a baking sheet.

Mix the dry ingredients. Grate the frozen butter and lard into the dry ingredients and mix lightly until it’s well distributed. Make a well in the mixture, and pour the milk into it. Working quickly, mix lightly until you have a sticky dough.

Scrape the dough out onto a floured surface and pat it flat. Sprinkle it with a bit of flour, fold it in half, and pat it flat again. Repeat until you have folded it four or five times. Using a biscuit cutter or drinking glass, cut the biscuits. Be sure not to twist the cutter as you cut them out; just push it straight down into the dough. Pushing it straight down means you don’t pinch the edges of the biscuit together, so you’re sure to get the high, flaky layers that characterize a southern biscuit. I think I got about 8-9 biscuits out of one batch. (I rework the scraps into more biscuits, even though they may not get as nice as the first cutting does.)

Place the biscuits on the baking sheet, throw ’em in the oven, and bake about 15-20 minutes.

You can eat these with sausage gravy, with butter and maple syrup, or just on their own right out of the oven. Goodness, my mouth is watering already.

