(click on the photo for an alternate recipe using eggs)

Someone requested the chocolate mousse recipe I used for our Valentine’s Day dinner. I got it from Anita a few years ago. My batch actually flopped, so I asked Anita’s mom, Barbara, what I did wrong, and she instructed me in the way I should go. I’ve included her directions in the recipe. Here it is!

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1/3 cup icing sugar

1 cup milk

1/4 cup butter

Place the chocolate chips and icing sugar in a blender and process until coarsely chopped. Heat the milk and butter to a boil, then slowly pour into the chocolate/sugar mixture. The chocolate and sugar will dissolve. Pulse a few times until completely blended. Pour into six individual serving cups (anything pretty: I used wine glasses). Chill. Garnish with lots of whipped cream and chocolate shavings.

It’s rich, so the servings are small. You can serve as much whipped cream as mousse if you like.

Make this for your honey or a group of girlfriends sometime. They’ll adore it (and you).

