Back in the first week of February, Bronwyn had to get a BCG (Bacillus Calmette-Guérin—I don’t know what that means, but it’s a tuberculosis vaccine) vaccination. I didn’t know TB vaccinations were still given in this day and age, but apparently Ireland has seen a rise in TB with the recent influx of immigrants from Eastern European countries and other countries where TB is still a threat.

Anyway, ever since getting the vaccination, Bronwyn has had a hard red lump on her arm where she got the needle. I figured it would go away after a few weeks, but instead it got larger. I was a little worried, but other moms assured me it was normal. Eventually there was a hard lump under her skin, about the size of a U.S. nickel in diameter. Two nights ago I was putting her in the tub when I noticed a thin papery scab that was starting to peel away from the lump. I peeled it off and this is what happened:

It drained at least four times this much. It was like the mother of all pimples.

It doesn’t seem to bother her much otherwise.

Now, to offset the gross factor of the first two pictures, here are some cuter ones.

Apparently Mom with a camera is hilarious.

Happy Wednesday!

-Jennifer

