In the spirit of Valentine’s Day, I thought I would write about one of my current objects of affection. This…thing…has such a servant’s heart that I can’t let it go unnoticed on this blog.

Y’all, I like my washer a lot. (I like my daughter, too, but this post is not about her. Sorry.)

1) It is IN MY HOUSE and I don’t have to share it with anyone else. I know how selfish that sounds, but after sharing a washer with everyone else in the building where we lived last year, I am very thankful to have one of my own this year.

2) It’s quiet. That’s nice, because as you can see it’s in my kitchen.

3) It entertains Bronwyn.

4) It spins out cloth diapers and towels so they’re only slightly damp when the cycle is finished. This is key, because I use indoor drying racks to dry our laundry. This way, towels and diapers take less than 24 hours to dry.

5) The coolest thing about it is that I can load it in the evening and set it to start washing early in the morning, when electricity is cheapest. I have to admit that one of the sweetest pleasures of my life at present is waking up in the night to hear my washer doing my work for me—and then rolling over to go back to sleep.

Thankful for modern conveniences,

-Jennifer

