Y’all, I made cottage cheese last week! It was easier than I thought it would be and so yummy.

I had some milk that was going bad and needed to be used up. (I had bought it on sale because it was almost outdated, and we didn’t drink it fast enough. Gabriel says this is why I need to stop policing the milk consumption around here. All I can say is, it’s hard to quit being the milk police when you’re used to viewing milk as a luxury, not a necessity. :P)

Anyway. The cheese was so easy to make. First, I heated the milk until it was almost boiling. (Actually it did boil a bit, and I guess that’s why the cheese turned out drier than it should have. It was still good though.) Then I took it off the heat and added lemon juice. Instant curds and whey! So cool. After it cooled a bit, I strained it.

To finish the cheese, I rinsed it under cold water and mixed in some salt.

I used some in lasagna, ate some, and froze the rest. I wasn’t sure what to do with all the whey. I used a bit of it to soak beans, but there was still a lot left. Any ideas? I’d be glad to hear them.

