All the stuff you did and did not want to know about motorways…

1. A motorway is provided with a continuous crash barrier between opposing directions of traffic.

2. A motorway does not cross on level with any road, railway, tramway track, or footpath.  Instead, there are grade separated junctions.  (Are you still following?  This little farm boy loves the big words UK and Ireland use.)

3. The speed limit is 120 km/hr (75 mph).

I find the third point is the most important.  You see, yesterday we spent five and one-half, yes, 330 minutes (!!!) meandering on and off buses until we finally made it to the mission guesthouse in preparation for being at church this morning.  How ironic.  It takes precisely 60 times longer for us to get to church in Ireland than it does in Canada.  OK, back to the speed limit thing.  We returned to Dublin this evening on the Waterford-Dublin express bus, which takes the new M9 (M stands for motorway, or Mótarbhealach in the official government language).  The M9 has been fully open for all of three days.  So we’re quite excited–what a lovely speed limit on a lovely new road!  It took us three and three quarters of an hour to get home.

Still, we need a car!  We fervently long for a commute of just over two hours to church.  Plus, Bronwyn is not at the stage where she likes long bus rides.  (Would any child?)

On the school front: I took my last two exams on Thursday, and tomorrow I begin classes for this semester.  I’m really quite excited!  Instead of anatomy classes, this semester we have Pathology, Pharmacology, Parasitology/Immunology, and Microbiology.  Yep.  Microbiology.  We are promised several long labs on culturing and growing all sorts of swabs.  Plus, we get to do ELISAs and other antibody thingies.  (In my previous life, I did a degree in Microbiology, which involved plenty of those previously mentioned lab techniques.  Could I skip some of those labs?)

~09250671

P.S. To all who were wondering about the exams: they were semi-ok, but I won’t see my results for another week or two.  My very last exam was a laboratory bellringer, but it was multiple choice.  I, uh, studied hard for the other parts of the course and expected to be able to do poorly on the bellringer (hey, it was anatomy, and I took the class four months ago), still hoping to pass the course based on my course cumulative average.  Don’t try this at home.  The day before my supposed bellringer, the prof in charge emailed.  The exam wouldn’t be a multiple choice; rather, it would be an oral.  AN ORAL IN ANATOMY!  When I think upon oral exams in anatomy, the writings of Dante seem to also crowd my mind.  Mama mia.  It was pretty awful.  And I just couldn’t remember the name of that big foramen in the bony pelvis, the one that some nerves go through and can be injured during parturition, oh, yeah, Gabriel doesn’t do anatomy.  I mean, the whole way home I could have yelled “obdurator foramen” to any passersby, but that sure didn’t help me when I blanked out during the professor’s question about that big hole near the ischium!

But I’m done.   I’m obliged to you for praying!  With the exception of the last one, the exams went better than I expected. 🙂  I’m sure that was thanks to your prayers.

