• People like the couple who invited us for lunch after church yesterday, “just in case you feel like getting out of the house.” Now that’s an understanding soul, one who remembers what it was like to go overdue herself.
  • The fact that a friend of mine (another one WHO WAS DUE AFTER ME) has had her baby–I am very happy for her that she’s not pregnant anymore.
  • Life in the country. Right now, all I hear are birds singing and the occasional vehicle on the highway. I know if I step outside, there will be new grass, apple blossoms, and a freshly planted garden. Beautiful.
  • LOTS of rhubarb that a kind friend sent over last week. I chopped most of it for the freezer and have been pulling it out to make dessert and a few batches of rhubarb punch. Gabriel declares this is his new favorite drink, and since it’s so easy to make, I’ll share it with you: Cook 4 cups chopped rhubarb in about 1.5 quarts  of water. Strain out rhubarb when it’s falling apart (I like to use an old handkerchief as a strainer). Add sugar to taste (I use 3/4 – 1 cup) and enough water to make 2 quarts. Now, the fun part is you can add about 1 cup of any frozen juice concentrate you like. OR, and this is G’s favorite, blend up some old frozen strawberries that you put up before you were married and add that to make strawberry rhubarb punch. Delightful!
