Some time ago Jenn wrote about new words that we meet in Ireland, or, at least, new meanings for familiar words.  Today I learned a new word that I long to share with you, but first, here’s a bit of history to my understanding of the word.

When I was in Wales, dear Gill Rees–the Rees family were my lovely hosts while I was there–served us some cawl.  There were bits of “swedes” floating in the soup.  To this little farmboy from the uncivilized colonies, that means I a) was cannibalistic and b) don’t know how to capitalize the term for natives of Sweden.  Then today Dr. Crowe was telling us about sheep eating swedes; however, “you know them as turnips” (you, referring to the Irish students, I guess).

After that, I had to look it up, you see.  Good ol’ Wikipedia.  As it turns out, North Americans often call that cross between a cabbage and a turnip a rutabaga.  So there you have it.  As far as I understand, Mother England (and the rest of UK) call it a swede, while the colonies decided to call it a rutabaga, yes?

~09250671

