I have to say that this is probably the most un-holiday-ish Thanksgiving weekend I’ve ever had. Gabriel was at school all day on Thursday. I spent a good part of the day at our local hospital for my first prenatal visit. I left the house at 7:45am because my appointment was at 8:30 and it’s a good 40-minute walk to the hospital from our flat. The midwife saw me after a moderate wait, and spent a good bit of time doing a detailed medical history. Then she sent me off to get blood work done, with instructions to go to the ultrasound clinic in the hospital after that. I was confused about what was going on, and didn’t realize that I wouldn’t see her again that day. So my carefully prepared list of questions didn’t get answered. And it’s not as simple as calling her with the questions–I’ll doubt I’ll ever see her again, since the patients see whoever happens to be on duty that day. Sigh.

After the blood work was done, I walked down to the ultrasound clinic and checked in. After waiting about 45 minutes, they announced that the doctor who does dating scans hadn’t arrived yet, but they were trying to contact him, and were sorry for the wait. About three hours after I walked in, I was given the ultrasound. Bigger sigh.

The good news is that our baby is developing normally as per the scan, and for that we are very, very thankful.

Thursday evening was the night of Gabriel’s school choir concert, in which he was singing. It was in a beautiful Catholic cathedral in Blackrock (south of where we live in Dublin). After the concert, we picked up a frozen pizza for supper. A little lacking on the turkey and dressing, but it was delicious anyway!

This morning we are being very lazy in celebration of the end of classes of Gabriel’s first semester as a vet student. After next week, he has two weeks of finals, but we can still say that we are 1/8 of the way through our four years in Dublin. We’re thankful for that, too!

Happy Thanksgiving, y’all!

