On Sunday, we drove down to Dunmore East with two friends from Dublin to attend church at D. E. Christian Fellowship. Everyone was warm and friendly–it felt like an oasis after a week in a strange and pagan city.

We got there a bit early, so we walked down to the harbour first.

DSC_2249_web

DSC_2254_web

(It was chilly. I still can’t wrap my brain around wearing coats in August, but I guess I should get used to it. )

Back to the church: I found it refreshing in a couple of ways.

First, it was small. Maybe 80 people attended, max. I know that small churches have their downsides, but I’m looking forward to being part of a smaller church, anyway, where you could actually talk to everyone in one morning, and where you’re missed if you’re not there.

Also, it was multicultural. There were Irish, Americans, Portuguese, Polish, Ukrainians, and Canadians there.  It probably presents challenges that a North American church doesn’t face, but I still found it intriguing, and I’m looking forward to getting to know these people better.

-Jennifer

